Ten firsts

I was able to go outside yesterday without wearing a hat and gloves for the first time in months. It was about 50 degrees! The birds have been chirping too so I hope that means spring is really on  its way. I am looking forward to my first spring in Munich. Which got me thinking of many ‘firsts’ I have experienced in the last month or so.

Innsbruck

1. Most recently, I took my first trip outside of Germany. Steve and I drove to Innsbruck for a retirement party (another first) and decided to stay on for the weekend. Innsbruck is a  pretty little city surrounded by the Alps. I really liked it. Except for the fact that Austria has apparently not banned smoking in bars and restaurants. They love to smoke!

2. As mentioned, we went to a retirement party in Innsbruck. After a tiny glass of sparkling wine, we sat through two and half hours of speeches by the honoree and guests. In German, of course. It was agony. Trying to think of ways to pass the time, I attempted to pick out words I recognized from the speeches. When the only words I knew were ‘executive’ and ‘supah’ (super), I gave up on that exercise and went back to the blank stare.

3. I left my dogs with a dog sitter for the first time. It was so great to get away from them for a couple of days. I left them with a nice lady that keeps the dogs at her house. She even agreed to sleep with them! Whether she will ever watch them again is left to be seen. She said they barked a lot!

such cute dogs

4. I joined a group of English-speaking expats that meet for lunch in a different place in the city each week. It’s quite a large group usually 20-25 people. It has been so great to chat with other people who understand my plight. They are from all over the world. They are quite a young group, and I am probably the oldest one that attends. And although I have nothing against old bags, I don’t really care for being the old bag.

5. I started German lessons!

6. I went to a rock club for the first time. Steve wanted to see a band called The Raveonettes from Denmark. It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. Once again though I felt quite old. We were probably the oldest people in the club which, if that didn’t make me feel conspicuous enough,  the show was sold out and Steve slipped in the door along with some photographers, I quickly followed before I was left on the street with the line of ticket holders. I thought we were going to be thrown out immediately  (and that I am definitely too old for!) but when I got back from the bathroom Steve told me the club thought we were music people from New York. Don’t know where they got that idea…but we stayed for the whole show!

The Raveonettes

7. We ate Ethiopian food.  I have a general aversion to cuisines from countries where people are starving but I was pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious and we didn’t eat any bugs.

8. I bought a transit pass for the month. Each trip on the transit within the center of the city is well over $3, one way, it really adds up. Plus, you have to make sure you have your ticket validated and hasn’t expired. The pass is very liberating. I can go anywhere on any type of transit with no worries. As long as it is after 9am, which for me isn’t an issue.

9. I found a hairdresser! The search for a hairdresser should probably be a post on its own. I think it is important to speak the same language as your hairdresser, anything left up to interpretation can be risky. I found a woman who moved here from Detroit in the last couple of years and her nickname is Ruby.

10. I experienced my first Mardi Gras celebration Munich style. It is called Fasching here. The street by our house was closed down before noon on Tuesday and set up with a bandstand and booths with food and drinks. Germans, young and old, dressed up in crazy costumes to enjoy the festivities. It was very colorful. The bars are allowed to stay open all night on Monday. Some people looked a little worse for the wear by noon on Tuesday. All the festivities have to end on Tuesday at midnight for Ash Wednesday.

Now Müncheners are looking forward to Starkbierzeit which translates to ”strong beer season’. My German teacher told me it is like a mini Oktoberfest. It first began in the ancient times when the monks brewed an extra ‘nutritious’ beer during Lent to strengthen them after fasting. I think the normal beer here is strong enough so I am not sure I will try the strong beer but I will definitely get out to see others enjoy it.

Next comes the asparagus festival. Woo Hoo!

11 Comments

Filed under observations, Travel

11 responses to “Ten firsts

  1. Kathy

    Very cute picture of Nicky and Queenie! Hope your hairdresser works out. Her names even Ruby…I’m sure your aware things can be left open for interpretation even when you do speak the same language. Another great blog!! Can’t wait for the asparagus festival!

  2. Kendall

    I love reading your posts, Auntie D. You’re hysterical! Wish I could have seen the look on your face when Uncle Steve decided to sneak the two of you into the club. Glad to hear you guys are having so much fun. Love you and miss you!

    • Hey Kendall, I didn’t know you read my dumb blog. thanks! Yeah, I couldn’t believe it when your uncle walked into that club. When I saw the sold out sign on the door I thought we were going to head home! It was about 20 degrees that night so I knew I didn’t want to be hanging around outside for him to come back out! It was a pretty good show, have you heard of them? The opening band was really funny, they wore star trek like outfits. They were doing their sound check when we went in. Hope all is well in LA. love, D

  3. Karen

    The guy at the festival in the jeans and the boxer shorts. Is that his can sticking out the back? Tell me it’s NOT. It’s got to be too cold for nudity.
    Who is that next to him? ninja turtle telletubbies?
    Supah blog denise.

    • No, it was a stunt butt. He didn’t look happy being photographed either, did he? There was someone beside me that was obviously taking a picture, I was kind of hiding with my Iphone, so I don’t think they were scowling at me. I don’t know what the others were dressed up as. I sent you a link with other pics of the celebration, really strange costumes. d

  4. conniedelavergne

    I sooo remember sitting around for hours hunting for a familiar norwegian word and never finding one. It was agony. I threatened to bring a book to the next family gathering I had to attend, but am happy to report I never did. Imagine my delight at the end of one particularly long gathering when I understood the meaning of, “skall vi go?” I remember enthusiastically answering “Yes!” before I realized I had correctly understood my first Norwegian sentence which, in case you haven’t figured it out meant, “shall we go?”

    damn I’m good with foreign languages!

    I enjoyed reading your post Denise, and thanks for triggering the memories.

  5. cathy

    I love reading your blog! You are so funny, I needed a good laugh today! Did Kar send you the crock pot recipes? There was a ton of things to cook on it. Maybe that is the way to cook, one pot cooking! Miss you tons…xoxoxooxo

  6. Sandy johnson

    I think I need a stunt butt!

  7. Elizabeth (NaNa)

    Hi D.:

    So, hanging out in an 1980’s place….did the outfits
    remind you of Devo? Loved the part about the dogs sleeping with the sitter.

    Going to clubs and drinking on the street….Oh those were the days! Send a picture of your hair after the Detroit Ruby gets done with it.

    Love,
    Nana

Leave a comment