American groceries

What kind of foods do you have to have from home when you live in a foreign country? Here is a sample of what my local grocery store thinks Americans want. I suppose they must know or they wouldn’t stock these things, right?  But, when I pass by these shelves I really can’t believe this is what we crave the most. I don’t think I will ever buy a $6 can of Campbell’s clam chowder!

Cream of Mushroom and Tomato Soup are the other choices. They cost about 40¢ less than the Clam Chowder, but that is still over $5 a can!

I have never bought Strawberry flavored Marshmallow Fluff, I didn’t even know it existed. The tiny can of Crisco is over $7. Another hausfrau told me she saw Pam non-stick spray and it was also about $7  for a small can.

Pop Tarts are  $9 a box

A lot of Barbecue sauces to  choose from!  I think you can get the Hunt’s brand for about $1 on sale in the States, here it is almost $7. I have bought the Hellman’s (Best Foods) mayonnaise. It is the tiny squeeze bottle to the right of  the French’s mustard. I don’t think Germans use mayonnaise. The mayo here reminds me of a  runny Miracle Whip. Bleck.

Why so many marshmallows?  They have more than one brand to choose from, in case you have a favorite. Plus they have the colored, the miniature and regular size. I admit we did buy a bag at Christmas time for a Sweet Potato recipe. But what do you ever do with the colored ones?

I might buy a cake mix one day. Never say never, right?

That is almost $4 for a can of refried beans. Tortillas and salsa are similarly priced.

So, there is a peek at my grocery store. As you can see, you don’t have to worry whether I am getting homesick for good American foods. But, if you come to visit me, can you please bring me a bag of brown sugar? And I do really like Reese’s peanut butter cups.

9 Comments

Filed under observations

9 responses to “American groceries

  1. Marlys

    I remember when we spent the winter of 1968 in Europe, what we missed the MOST was Campbells tomato soup and tuna fish sandwiches.

    • But would you have paid $5 a can for it? (or the equivalent in 1968)

      • Marlys

        Probably not. Besides, the only place we had a stove was in Oslo for a couple of weeks. Rest of the time in B and B’s and Fordor’s suggestions for economical restaurants. Along with lunches of bread, cheese, fruit etc consumed along the way in parks and in the car.

  2. kathy

    Well…you have your pop tarts now…at $6.50 a pop I suppose you won’t be craving them. I’ll be sure to keep the bag of brown sugar and Reese’s in mind.
    You might make a little Ambrosia salad with those colored marshmallows–(does anybody really eat that?)

  3. Kay (Aliment) Bolles

    Hi Denise,
    I’m a distant cousin and I lived in Germany for nearly two years in Lampertheim am Rheine (then an Army wife living on the economy). I’m enjoying your blog. All I remember years ago was trying to purchase and eat whatever was in the local German market. I stayed away from Blutwurst and raw fish. I could go to the meat market and get an auf schnitt (slice) of each wurst or meat for a reasonable price. Cooking was certainly a challenge with a tiny stove and I was always boiling water to wash dishes. I hope kitchens on the economy have improved. Enjoy every strange moment and God bless you, Kay

    • Hi Kay, how nice to hear from you. Where do you live now? I am with you on the Blutwurst, is that blood sausage? As for the raw fish, they have something that looks like little herring (or something similar) prepared in many ways. I am not sure it is raw maybe pickled? NO thanks in any case. I have to agree with you there too. And thankfully, I do have a dishwasher. Still no garbage disposals though. thanks, denise

  4. Tim Kelly

    Hi Denise:
    We haven’t met but I work with Steve at Bombardier. However, after reading your blog and having dinner with Steve (and my wife Sue) last night, it’s like I already know you. Sounds like you are adjusting well to Munich. Certainly weekend trips to Innsbruck can do a lot to offset some of the frustration of adapting to a new home.
    The next time you are in Toronto, Sue and I will have to have you and Steve over for dinner. Sue makes a mean Schnitzel!!

Leave a comment